Exceptional knowledge of Canadian government, international affairs, cross-border issues and policy development is a key component of our ability to provide clients with strategic legal and business advice in a business environment that is increasingly complex and international in scope.

Members of our Public Policy Group have been invaluable for their leadership in shaping public policy in Canada, and in developing business responses to those policies.

As an exceptional public policy group in a Canadian law firm, we provide clients with integrated policy and legal expertise, and advisory services on domestic and international issues including:

Economic Development

National and global economic developments, and their effect on business in Canada and abroad


Challenges facing the energy sector


Regulatory issues

Canada-US Relations

International trade


Cross-border challenges and opportunities

Pension Advisory

Challenges resulting from the changing nature of work


Legal and governance advice for boards

Climate change regulation

Climate change regulation

Competition Policy

Competition policy

Indigenous relations

Indigenous relations and consultations

Justice System Reform

Justice system reform

Members of the Public Policy Group

Hon. John R. Baird P.C.
Hon. John R. Baird P.C.
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs; former Leader of the Government in the House of Commons; former Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities; former Minister of the Environment; and former President of the Treasury Board
Jane  Bird
Jane Bird
Director Canada Infrastructure Bank; former project director Canada House renewal project on Trafalgar Square in London, U.K.; former attaché with Canada's Department of Foreign Affairs, International Trade and Development; former President and CEO of Columbia Power Corporation; and former CEO of Canada Line Rapid Transit Inc.
Christy  Clark
Christy Clark
Former Premier of British Columbia
Richard  Dion
Richard Dion
Former economist for the Bank of Canada, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, and Energy, Mines and Resources Canada
David A. Dodge O.C.
David A. Dodge O.C.
Former Governor of the Bank of Canada and Chancellor, Queen's University
Serge  Dupont
Serge Dupont
Former Deputy Clerk of the Privy Council and Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs; former Executive Director for Canada, Ireland and the Caribbean in the International Monetary Fund (IMF); former Deputy Minister, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan)
Jonathan  Fried
Jonathan Fried
Canada’s World Trade Organization (WTO) Ambassador from 2012 to 2017; coordinator for International Economic Relations with Global Affairs Canada from 2017 to 2020; and former personal representative of Canada's Prime Minister for the G20
Edward S. Goldenberg C.M.
Edward S. Goldenberg C.M.
Former Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister and Chair, Public Policy Group
Michael  Horgan
Michael Horgan
Former Deputy Minister of Finance; former Deputy Minister of Environment; and former Deputy Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
Hon. Jason  Kenney PC, ECA
Hon. Jason Kenney PC, ECA
Former Premier of Alberta; former Minister for Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism; former Minister of Employment and Social Development; former Minister of National Defence; former Chair of the Cabinet Operations Committee; former President of the Canadian Taxpayers Federation
Hon. John P. Manley P.C., O.C.
Hon. John P. Manley P.C., O.C.
Former Deputy Prime Minister of Canada, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, former Finance Minister and former Industry Minister, and former President and Chief Executive Officer of the Business Council of Canada
Hon. A. Anne McLellan P.C., O.C., A.O.E.
Hon. A. Anne McLellan P.C., O.C., A.O.E.
Former Deputy Prime Minister of Canada, former Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, former Minister of Health, former Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, former Minister of Natural Resources and Federal Interlocutor for Metis and Non-Status Indians, and former Chair of the Task Force on Cannabis Legalization and Regulation
Dr. Indira V. Samarasekera PhD, FRSC, FCAE, DSc, O.C.
Dr. Indira V. Samarasekera PhD, FRSC, FCAE, DSc, O.C.
Former President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Alberta; one of Canada's leading metallurgical engineers.
Stephen P. Sibold KC
Stephen P. Sibold KC
Former Chair, Alberta Securities Commission
Lori  Sterling
Lori Sterling
Former Deputy Minister of Labour and Associate Deputy Minister, Employment, Skills Development Canada; former Associate Deputy Minister of Justice for Canada; former Deputy Minister of Indigenous Affairs and former Assistant Deputy Minister for Legal Services in Ontario
Laurie C. Wright
Laurie C. Wright
Former Senior Leader, Canadian Department of Justice

Past Economic Outlooks

Governmental Affairs & Public Policy